Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Baby number 3

Well to update everyone, I found out New Year's Eve 2013 that I was expecting, I figured out my due date was 9-12-14. Valentine's Day, I was 13 weeks and decided to announce it to everyone that I was expecting.




 We were hoping to finally add some pink to our family, but God has other plans, we found out at 16 weeks we were expecting a boy- it took us by surprise, it made us sad, I shall not lie, but we got over it and decided to embrace the fact that we will have yet another boy to our growing family. We had a nice gender reveal where my mom, and Matthew's parents came down, and it was fun!


 I was pregnant in the summer, yet again- yuck! But I definitely embraced it more this time than I ever have. I wore way more skirts and dresses and shorts. I truly didn't mind being pregnant in the summer. We decided to have my placenta encapsulated and to hire a doula, I really wanted to have a pain med free and drug free birth. Something I've always wanted to accomplish! 
Fast forward- sept arrived and I was so ready to have him! The beginning of Septemeber I finally decided on a name, Isaiah Levi. I had thought about Ezra Levi, Levi Alexander, Noah Levi, Jedidiah Levi- I knew for sure Levi was going to be in it, I just didn't know how and what would come before or after it, until finally I came up with Isaiah. I'm sure if we have another boy his name will be Jedidiah. 
So, my due date came & went, I knew as much as my husband said "oh he'll be on his date date or a day or two late" that I would go over, like way over. 


The day he was born, Matthew went to or like normal, I couldn't go back to sleep, so I went downstairs, started folding clothes, whilst sitting on my ball. I had to potty, when I wiped I had a green looking CM- thought that was odd. I contacted my doula, we thought it was some of my plug, but I was scared of infection, I was a day away from 41 weeks, so she told me to wait, see if I would get contractions, keep sitting on my ball, so nothing happened. So, I felt something leaky, so I went back & more green came out, so she suggest I call the on call midwife to see what she said. So I did, and we know each other very well, so she told me to come on in, she wanted to see what was going on. So we went in- I get there & apparently it could be an infection, my water hadn't busted & I was a 1cm. She suggested induction. I agreed, I was tired of being pregnant, sadly. They did cytotec-one round was all I needed I did squats, and walked my room. Got me to a three- almost 4 so she broke my water, I did more squats & walked started hurting so I got a shower, hubby washed my hair, they checked my afterwards & I was like a 6, I got in the tub and was hurting really bad, my doula showed up I got out & she started rubbing my back & feet amazing!! & things started going fast! Next time the midwife came in I was an 8 in so much pain, I stayed on a fours mostly, rocking back & forth, my doula would talk softly to me, hubby stoked my hair, in between contractions I just tried breathing & kept saying,"im sorry, I'm so so sorry" at the start of a contraction I would say "no no no no, not again, I can't do this, mama it stop" then Id finally remember to calm down & breathe & it was over. During this hectic time, I started vomiting, so, they wanted a heart rate on Isaiah, the nurses were so sweet & nice & I just remember being on all fours, head tucked down, eyes closed & said "no, no, he's fine, you don't need anything" apparently my husband & doula were on opposite sides, and at that time both look at each other & had to refrain from laughing. So my doula finally whispered in my ear "honey, they just want to check & make sure his heart rate is okay, it won't take long, it's okay" so I flipped on my back & quickly regretted that, and was like "I can't lay like this, it hurts too bad" so I found a spot on my side that was okay. They got a reading & the pain was just almost unbareable, and I kept asking for relief. I said "I just need a nap, I can't do this, im too tired, I need meds, please give me something!" So a nurse went to get get Meds, but my midwife, said "if you take this & he's born within an hour, they'll be in his system" I feel horrible about how I reacted, but I said "I don't care" well, they kept holding me off, saying "you're doing great, you're almost done, you've got this, you're so close" a few minutes later I told my midwife, well whoever was listening actually I felt pressure, and I needed to push. She asked for me to hang on, so she could check me- well I threw up & pushed a few times before she could check me, she did & I heard her say, she's complete. It was 7:58pm, and I thought I had pushed for forever! But when he came out & I heard someone ask for time it was 8:04pm! Isaiah Levi Flippen was born at 8:04pm at 8 pounds 4 ounces, 19.5 inches long! I just let me lay on my chest while we waiting on my placenta to come out. My midwife allowed me to have most lights off while he was born, they waited until I was ready for him to be weighed, and measured. Matthew cut the cord, just like he did with Elijah & Gabriel. This birth is ingrained in my memory forever! He was born tongue tied, just like Gabriel, by the way. 

So, that's my pregnancy, and birth story on Isaiah in a nutshell. I hope you enjoyed, I love reliving it all, honestly! 




Sunday, December 29, 2013

Oward to the New Years

As I start thinking of the New Year, I find myself, wanting, truly wanting to make a change. Not just to conceive a baby, but to make a new me. I want to be healthy for my babies, my boys, they need a healthy, smart, caring loving mama. Wouldn't you agree? I just know in a few years they're going to want to play sports, running around wanna do all sorts of things, I'm going to need to be able to keep up. So, I'm starting to chart my weight. Hardest thing for me, because I hate to see it go up, what woman doesn't though? So, we have a plan. I came up with my own chore chart! I love it! It has Monday-Friday. Saturdays are free for photography and Sunday are free for Church and family time. Also, starting tomorrow, when Matthew gets home, we are going to the gym together. Parent room is going to have some new kiddos. It gives the boys a new place to play, friends to make, and mommy and daddy some workout time that we need. It's too cold to do out door walks, and even the good days it's windy.

On another note, I have a lovely lady from church offering to go with me to my appointments in Jan, if Matthew isn't able to go. I'm ok with him not going to the HSG appointment, but I'm praying really hard that he can go to Columbia with me. I really can't imagine going to that appointment without Matthew. I need him to meet the doctor with me, to hear what the next steps are, etc. I'm 10DPO, right now. My chart is so crazy right now. My symptoms are crazy right now too. I'm craving Dr. Pepper (which is odd because I'm not a huge fan of it) and chocolate(normal about a week before AF) my breasts are tender and sore, and feel huge, and my temp went up this morning. The wait is crazy. I know this isn't the best month to become pregnant, with all the appointments & such, but it's been in Gods hands for a while now. We've been doing all but BC and contraceptives to prevent. I'm not a huge fan of BC I hate, absolutely hate  how it makes me feel, and what it does to my body. But since I've only been temping for two months, it was hard to pin point O. They want me to track CM too, and I am, but it's so hard. It's sometimes it's hard to determine what's what, but I'm learning. 

Anyways, I suppose this is all for now. Thanks for all the support. Keep checking for more updates! Have a happy and safe New Year. And what do you want to change?    

Thursday, December 26, 2013

Intro

Hello, I am Mandy. I'm not new to the whole blogging ordeal, I have a personal blog, but I kinda jump back and forth and sometimes go months without
blogging, but I'm really going to try to keep this one going. *trying* being the main word.

My husband and I have two handsome, very smart, sweet, little boys. One is three years old, born in Oct of 2010. He is our Elijah Micheal. He is our red headed ball of fire. Such a smarty pants. Sometimes too smart for his own good. Then, we have our almost 16 month old Gabriel Josiah. He was born in Sept 2012. He's cute, cuddly, and can be rough and rowdy like his big brother! All in all, we've been very blessed. Who would have known they would have been our miracle babies!

My husband and I have been married for 6 years. It may not sound like long, but getting married when you're 17, it already seems like a lifetime! We met when I was 16 and he was 19 turning 20. We both worked at Waffle House. We were in love with each other so much that we just had to get married. God worked it out for us to do so. In our first two years of marriage he was a truckfriver, worked at Fireside Sub, and Waffle House some more. He then decided that he would join the Air Force. I was so upset, and terrified. But, that's the job he's had now for over four years.
We got pregnant with our first very quickly. No OPKs, No tracking BBT, just doing whatever, whenever. You know.
Well, after Elijah was a year old, we decided okay, lets do this again, after a month of nothing, I decided to try OPKs, then BAM! It happened. No issues.. Well, he was a super easy newborn aside his tongue tie issues, he was breastfed, really easy, only really cried if he needed food, or diaper change or extra attention. I was tired, but we co-slept for a while, and having a 2 year old I was always on my toes, but things weren't so bad. So, once Gabriel was about two months old, we thought ok, lets not use protection, and lets try. Decided not to use OPKs, and I didn't know much about BBT so we just did it, and waited. Since Gabriel was nursing we figured it may take a while, no biggie. Here is where the story gets rough....

Once Gabriel started nursing less and less (and might I add, I loved nursing him, it kept weight off of me, I lost weight nursing, while he gained it all ;) in June, I fell pregnant. We were pretty excited, but had plans to keep number three to our self for a while, we had our own way to revel but.. we didn't get the chance. By the end of June I had already miscarried. I was about 5 weeks, so just long enough to know, but not long enough to have to go to the ER or Dr. Everything passed just fine. Well we were like okay, this happens, no biggie. After that, I started having a cycle. But, it was in no way average. At that point I had a 9 day luteal phase, and a 37 day cycle. So bummed. So long. Well, in Sept I tested, because I was a day late. (With Gabriel I tested the day I was suppose to start and got my BFP) a day late was no big deal, I knew something was up. It came back faintly positive. Thought ok, I'm early, I'll test again tomorrow. Well, tomorrow came, when to the bathroom pulled the test out, got the cup out, peed in the cup, wiped, and there was blood. So I tested anyways, and it was negative. Chalked it up to a chemical pregnancy, still sucked. Oct rolled around, and by this time, I was like ok, this has to be my month. It's never taken this long before, I just need to relax and let it happen. I tested on the 14th and got my first faint positive. kept testing and they kept coming back a little stronger each time. We were getting excited. Looking for hospitals, and doctors, since we wanted to try someone new. On, the 22nd we were at a cooking class, and I felt weird. I went to the bathroom, and I was spotting. My heart sunk. It wasn't heavy, it wasn't painful, it wasn't anything, just only showed up when I wiped. Still I had that sinking feeling. On the 23rd, Elijah's birthday I woke up and I was still bleeding. Went to the ER and I had already lost the baby. I felt so empty. So sad. Words can't describe it.

So, I called the clinic and since my first two were what they called, *self reported* all they told me was to wait two weeks after I've missed a period then test. I tried explaining with my cycle, and luteal phase being so whacky that by then it's too late, and she told me, well the first few weeks, it can be normal. I was in shock! I was so mad. I didn't know what to say, or do. I called my husband who was at work, and he was furious too. So, I waited a week, and deiced to put in a request to be seen off base, for a pre-conception appointment. I thought, oh they'll call me or email me back in a few days, whatever. I got a phone call that same afternoon. The lady told me I'd have to come on base for such appointment since they have an GYN doctor at the clinic. I then explained my situation, and she said well lets make you an appointment, I told her I only had a few days because I was leaving town soon, and would be gone for a few weeks. She got me the first available appointment, which was like two days away. Once again, I was in shock! The clinic never gets you in that fast!

My first appointment Oct 30, 2013. I was scared. Hubby couldn't come with me. I had someone watch the boys too. I was all alone. I remember thinking, "what is going to happen, what does my doctor look like? Is she nice? Is she going to be sympathetic?" The Lady who came to get me, from the waiting room was great! Super nice, made me laugh, asked a ton of questions. I liked her though. Then, my doctor walked in. She was amazing! Told her about my concerns, told me her plan, walked out feeling like I might be getting answers. She told me to come back on cycle day 3 or as close to it as possible. To not to try these next few cycles, to stop using OPKs, and start charting my BBT. To start taking prenatals, fish oil, and flaxseed oil. So, I started doing all of that. Charting your temp actually tells you a lot! 


I started my cycle on... of all days Thanksgiving! Of Course! So, I couldn't go on cycle day 3. I went in on cycle day 5. They took 6 tubes of blood! SIX TUBES people! I took two awesome people with me to help me. I am terrified of needles. I had one person watching me, the guy drawing my blood and one person holding my hand, and keeping me laughing. Good thing I had two people, because I almost passed out. Matthew's NCIOC wife came with me, since she's had experience in this area too. My next appointment to go over labs was on Dec 20! It felt like a lifetime away!

Dec 20 came, and I went. Once again, Matthew couldn't come, but that was ok, I had a lovely lady from church come with me. She's also endured the same issues. Blood results, I was nervous. I wanted answers, but didn't want anything wrong with me. So, Dr comes in, and starts with wanting to see my charts. She looked at last month, she was happy with it, said it looked great, with the exception of having a 37 day cycle. My luteal phase had fixed itself. Which was good! Now I have a 14-15 day luteal phase. She looked at this cycles chart, which I was right at ovulation, and she was confused with my temps at the beginning of my cycle. Then, she told me my results. Testosterone was normal, my friend took notes and she has them, but all my hormones were fine, she didn't test my progesterone, but the test that was abnormal, was a blood clotting disorder. My numbers were more than double what they should have been. She made me retake that test, and told me to keep tracking my temp, to keep taking all my extra vitamins, and wants a sample from hubby to find out his numbers. She's also referring me to Columbia Mo. To a well known fertility specialist. I also have to go take what's called an HSG in Warrensburg on Jan 10. It's where they inject dye into my uterus and make sure the structure of my tubes and uterus are good. My appointment with my specialist is on Jan 22. Praying my husband can go with me. It's a good 1 and a half away, I think. I'm excited for my specialist appointment, but not for my HSG.

This is my very first TTC blog. If you have questions, please leave it in the comment bar.

We are keeping our faith in the Lord. He is the giver of life! We know this.