Hello, I am Mandy. I'm not new to the whole blogging ordeal, I have a personal blog, but I kinda jump back and forth and sometimes go months without
blogging, but I'm really going to try to keep this one going. *trying* being the main word.
My husband and I have two handsome, very smart, sweet, little boys. One is three years old, born in Oct of 2010. He is our Elijah Micheal. He is our red headed ball of fire. Such a smarty pants. Sometimes too smart for his own good. Then, we have our almost 16 month old Gabriel Josiah. He was born in Sept 2012. He's cute, cuddly, and can be rough and rowdy like his big brother! All in all, we've been very blessed. Who would have known they would have been our miracle babies!
My husband and I have been married for 6 years. It may not sound like long, but getting married when you're 17, it already seems like a lifetime! We met when I was 16 and he was 19 turning 20. We both worked at Waffle House. We were in love with each other so much that we just had to get married. God worked it out for us to do so. In our first two years of marriage he was a truckfriver, worked at Fireside Sub, and Waffle House some more. He then decided that he would join the Air Force. I was so upset, and terrified. But, that's the job he's had now for over four years.
We got pregnant with our first very quickly. No OPKs, No tracking BBT, just doing whatever, whenever. You know.
Well, after Elijah was a year old, we decided okay, lets do this again, after a month of nothing, I decided to try OPKs, then BAM! It happened. No issues.. Well, he was a super easy newborn aside his tongue tie issues, he was breastfed, really easy, only really cried if he needed food, or diaper change or extra attention. I was tired, but we co-slept for a while, and having a 2 year old I was always on my toes, but things weren't so bad. So, once Gabriel was about two months old, we thought ok, lets not use protection, and lets try. Decided not to use OPKs, and I didn't know much about BBT so we just did it, and waited. Since Gabriel was nursing we figured it may take a while, no biggie. Here is where the story gets rough....
Once Gabriel started nursing less and less (and might I add, I loved nursing him, it kept weight off of me, I lost weight nursing, while he gained it all ;) in June, I fell pregnant. We were pretty excited, but had plans to keep number three to our self for a while, we had our own way to revel but.. we didn't get the chance. By the end of June I had already miscarried. I was about 5 weeks, so just long enough to know, but not long enough to have to go to the ER or Dr. Everything passed just fine. Well we were like okay, this happens, no biggie. After that, I started having a cycle. But, it was in no way average. At that point I had a 9 day luteal phase, and a 37 day cycle. So bummed. So long. Well, in Sept I tested, because I was a day late. (With Gabriel I tested the day I was suppose to start and got my BFP) a day late was no big deal, I knew something was up. It came back faintly positive. Thought ok, I'm early, I'll test again tomorrow. Well, tomorrow came, when to the bathroom pulled the test out, got the cup out, peed in the cup, wiped, and there was blood. So I tested anyways, and it was negative. Chalked it up to a chemical pregnancy, still sucked. Oct rolled around, and by this time, I was like ok, this has to be my month. It's never taken this long before, I just need to relax and let it happen. I tested on the 14th and got my first faint positive. kept testing and they kept coming back a little stronger each time. We were getting excited. Looking for hospitals, and doctors, since we wanted to try someone new. On, the 22nd we were at a cooking class, and I felt weird. I went to the bathroom, and I was spotting. My heart sunk. It wasn't heavy, it wasn't painful, it wasn't anything, just only showed up when I wiped. Still I had that sinking feeling. On the 23rd, Elijah's birthday I woke up and I was still bleeding. Went to the ER and I had already lost the baby. I felt so empty. So sad. Words can't describe it.
So, I called the clinic and since my first two were what they called, *self reported* all they told me was to wait two weeks after I've missed a period then test. I tried explaining with my cycle, and luteal phase being so whacky that by then it's too late, and she told me, well the first few weeks, it can be normal. I was in shock! I was so mad. I didn't know what to say, or do. I called my husband who was at work, and he was furious too. So, I waited a week, and deiced to put in a request to be seen off base, for a pre-conception appointment. I thought, oh they'll call me or email me back in a few days, whatever. I got a phone call that same afternoon. The lady told me I'd have to come on base for such appointment since they have an GYN doctor at the clinic. I then explained my situation, and she said well lets make you an appointment, I told her I only had a few days because I was leaving town soon, and would be gone for a few weeks. She got me the first available appointment, which was like two days away. Once again, I was in shock! The clinic never gets you in that fast!
My first appointment Oct 30, 2013. I was scared. Hubby couldn't come with me. I had someone watch the boys too. I was all alone. I remember thinking, "what is going to happen, what does my doctor look like? Is she nice? Is she going to be sympathetic?" The Lady who came to get me, from the waiting room was great! Super nice, made me laugh, asked a ton of questions. I liked her though. Then, my doctor walked in. She was amazing! Told her about my concerns, told me her plan, walked out feeling like I might be getting answers. She told me to come back on cycle day 3 or as close to it as possible. To not to try these next few cycles, to stop using OPKs, and start charting my BBT. To start taking prenatals, fish oil, and flaxseed oil. So, I started doing all of that. Charting your temp actually tells you a lot!
I started my cycle on... of all days Thanksgiving! Of Course! So, I couldn't go on cycle day 3. I went in on cycle day 5. They took 6 tubes of blood! SIX TUBES people! I took two awesome people with me to help me. I am terrified of needles. I had one person watching me, the guy drawing my blood and one person holding my hand, and keeping me laughing. Good thing I had two people, because I almost passed out. Matthew's NCIOC wife came with me, since she's had experience in this area too. My next appointment to go over labs was on Dec 20! It felt like a lifetime away!
Dec 20 came, and I went. Once again, Matthew couldn't come, but that was ok, I had a lovely lady from church come with me. She's also endured the same issues. Blood results, I was nervous. I wanted answers, but didn't want anything wrong with me. So, Dr comes in, and starts with wanting to see my charts. She looked at last month, she was happy with it, said it looked great, with the exception of having a 37 day cycle. My luteal phase had fixed itself. Which was good! Now I have a 14-15 day luteal phase. She looked at this cycles chart, which I was right at ovulation, and she was confused with my temps at the beginning of my cycle. Then, she told me my results. Testosterone was normal, my friend took notes and she has them, but all my hormones were fine, she didn't test my progesterone, but the test that was abnormal, was a blood clotting disorder. My numbers were more than double what they should have been. She made me retake that test, and told me to keep tracking my temp, to keep taking all my extra vitamins, and wants a sample from hubby to find out his numbers. She's also referring me to Columbia Mo. To a well known fertility specialist. I also have to go take what's called an HSG in Warrensburg on Jan 10. It's where they inject dye into my uterus and make sure the structure of my tubes and uterus are good. My appointment with my specialist is on Jan 22. Praying my husband can go with me. It's a good 1 and a half away, I think. I'm excited for my specialist appointment, but not for my HSG.
This is my very first TTC blog. If you have questions, please leave it in the comment bar.
We are keeping our faith in the Lord. He is the giver of life! We know this.
Make sure you know what your insurance will pay for and what it doesn't. Just don't want you to get any surprise bills. Tricare typically doesn't cover much in the way of fertility =(
ReplyDeleteYes, very true. Right now we are good. Tricare does more than I was told by others. The must they wont do is IVF, IUI and things like that. Right now they are just trying to find out why this is happening. Mostly blood tests, and looking around inside of me. Which of course sounds super fun haha not really. But, it's all worth it.
DeleteI had no clue you guys had went through all of this. I didn't even know you were even trying for another baby. I don't really know what to say since I've never been through anything like this. but if it's meant to be, it'll happen only in God's timing. I'm sure you've heard that a million times but that's all I got for now lol
ReplyDeleteNot many people knew. After our first MC we decided to really keep quite. Yes, we've heard it a dozen times, but we know it's true. I'm presuming it because it's been on my heart. I feel like God is saying, something is wrong Mandy, and I want you to know what it is. :) But thank you for reading!
DeleteYou guys will be in my prayers!
ReplyDeleteThank so much honey!
Delete